Ellen’s Famous Apple Crisp

I’ve been on a semi-quest, sort of, for the past couple years to find “the best” apple crisp recipe.  To be honest, it’s been a half-hearted effort, but it’s at least been on my mind during apple season.

A few weeks ago, I wanted to try the recipe that my fabulous SIL Becky loves. It comes from a friend of hers named Ellen and is apparently THE go-to apple crisp recipe amid some Bostonian circles.

At the time, we were visiting family in the DC area, and we weren’t able to find non-instant butterscotch pudding. Since Ellen’s instructions specifically state that instant is NOT to be used, we had to go with another recipe, which was good, BUT I felt compelled to try this one.

I’ve since been able to procure the proper pudding mix. It was so worth the wait. I made it for my family while visiting TN a couple weeks ago, and it rapidly disappeared amid lots of “mmming” and “yumming.”

TO. DIE. FOR!!!!!

I’ve never been one to crave apple crisp–except during apple season. Now that I’ve found this little gem, though, I’ll be craving apple crisp year round–and frequently.

Ellen’s Famous Apple Crisp

Mix the following ingredients together and pour into ungreased 9×13-inch pan.

8 cups peeled and sliced apples
1 cup packed brown sugar
2 T flour
½ cup milk
1 cup water

Topping:
1 1/3 cup flour
1 cup oats
½ cup sugar
1 cup margarine, melted
1 t salt
2 t cinnamon
2 packages dry Butterscotch pudding (not instant)

Mix topping ingredients together and crumble on top of apple mixture. Bake at 350 degrees until golden brown, approximately 45-50 minutes. (I accidentally only baked for 35 minutes, and it seemed to cook throughout, so take that for what it’s worth).

One Response

  1. this picture and recipe make me hungry:)

Leave a Reply

