Butter Crescent Rolls

This is probably my most requested recipe. In fact, that’s why I’m posting this now. It’s been in my “drafts” for months and months–with good intentions to post it. Anyhow, just got another request for the recipe, so here it is…FINALLY!

These are my never fail, go to rolls! Very easy. Very yummy. Always a hit! In fact whenever I’m in UT visiting family there, my cute nephews always ask me to make them some of “Aunt Julee’s Rolls.” Can’t say no to that! My nieces and nephews even like to help spread the butter, roll up the crescents, and butter the tops. Great memories!

These are the rolls my mom always made when I was growing up. The recipe comes from a cookbook that was published by a family friend nearly 30 years ago. I have so many memories tied to food that was prepared out of this cookbook. It is autographed by Ms. Julia, well-worn and much-used. I wish I could get a copy of my own. Perhaps one day, Mom will get tired of using it and pass it on to me. I’m not going to hold my breath, though. I might have more luck just “accidentally” packing it with my stuff as I load up the car tonight to return home.

Crescent Rolls4

Butter Crescent Rolls
from Julia’s Favorite Recipes by Julia Read Clark, p. 42

1 package or 1 T yeast
1 c warm water
1/2 c sugar
3 eggs, beaten
3/4 tsp salt
1/2 c butter, melted
4-1/2 c all-purpose flour
about 1/4 c butter, melted (for spreading on rolled out dough and on top of the rolled crescents)

Dissolve yeast in warm water. (If desired, add sugar at this point and proof the yeast; otherwise add sugar later).

Melt butter & add to yeast. Also add sugar, eggs & salt. Combine well.

Gradually add flour, mixing well after each addition. (I normally start by adding 2 cups of flour and then adding 1/2 c – 1 c in the subsequent additions). Be careful to not add too much flour, which will result in drier bread.

Cover with clean, damp cloth and let rise until doubled in size (about 4 hours). Punch down and allow dough to rise again, doubling in size.

Cut the dough in half and knead each half. Roll out each half into a large circle. Brush the rolled out dough with melted butter. Using a knife, slice the dough into 4 equal parts. Continue slicing until there are 16 “slices.”

Roll each “slice,” starting with the widest end. Place the rolls on an ungreased baking sheet with the thin end of the roll on the bottom.

Brush tops with remaining butter. Allow rolls to rise on the baking sheet for 1/2 hour – 1 hour before baking.

Bake at 400 for 10-15 minutes til golden brown.

Yield: 32 rolls

Note: Recipe can easily be doubled.

One Response

  1. Thank you thank you thank you!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

