White Chocolate Popcorn

food-092edThis was a favorite among the Christmas goodies I made and distributed this year. I think I made 4 or 5 batches–perhaps more. I ate more than my fair share, too, I’m sure.

I inherited my love of the salty-sweet combo from my mother. This treat hits the mark!

Thanks, again, Leigh Anne, for another winner!

white-chocolate-popcorn

White Chocolate Popcorn
Adapted from Your HomeBased Mom

2 bags microwave butter popcorn
12 – 16 oz. white chocolate chips, melted (Note: I use Wilton White Candy Melts)
1 1/2 cup M & M’s
1 1/2 cup stick pretzels
1 1/2 – 1 3/4 cup mini marshmallows
6 oz. dark or milk chocolate
butter or margarine (to thin dark or milk chocolate), if needed

Pop popcorn, remove unpopped kernels.  Put popcorn in a big bowl.

Melt white chocolate. Allow to cool just a bit before adding to other ingredients. (The first time I made it, I didn’t wait and some of my M&M’s melted and caused my white popcorn to not be so white. I’m not sure if it was because my white chocolate was too warm or if it was because my nieces were helping and stirring with vigor! Either way, in the subsequent batches, I gave the white chocolate a few minutes to cool before mixing with the other ingredients, and didn’t encounter the same problem).

In separate bowl, mix together melted white chocolate, M & M’s, pretzels, and marshmallows until coated with white chocolate.  Pour over popcorn and mix to coat popcorn with white chocolate.  Spread onto two jelly roll pans or cookie sheets.

Melt dark or milk chocolate. If the consistency is too thick, add some enough melted butter or margarine to thin until it reaches drizzle consistency. Drizzle chocolate over the popcorn mix, and refrigerate for 10 minutes or longer until chocolate has hardened and popcorn breaks apart in bit pieces.  Munch away!

Note: the first batch I made, I used Guittard Real Milk Chocolate Chips, which happens to be my favorite milk chocoloate chip, for drizzling. The consistency was good, and I didn’t need to combine with melted butter. For the subsequent batches, I used Hershey Milk Chocolate bars and had to add quite a bit of butter to get the right consistency. While it was unfortunate to add so many more calories, that buttery goodness was something extra special!

One Response

  1. Howdy! Quick question that’s completely off topic. Do you know how to make your site mobile friendly? My blog looks weird when browsing from my iphone 4. I’m trying to
    find a theme or plugin that might be able to correct this
    issue. If you have any recommendations, please share.
    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

