Sloppy Joes

This recipe comes from my Grandma. Admittedly, I didn’t always appreciate how good it was when I was younger, but I’ve since grown wiser.

Sometime during this past year, I heard my husband mention that he liked Sloppy Joes, and I realized that we’d never made any. I whipped these up one evening, and he loved them. He ate several and our leftovers didn’t last long.

Foolishly, I thought I would try another Sloppy Joe recipe that I found on another site. It looked promising, but in the end it was a big disappointment! For our house, we’ll just stick with Grandma’s tried and true!

One thing I did differently, though, is I substituted ground turkey for the ground beef to make it a little healthier. Either works well and tastes great.

sloppy-joes

Grandma’s Sloppy Joes

1 lb ground beef or ground turkey
1 small onion, diced
1 T flour
1/3 c water
about 2 c Ketchup
1/2 – 1 T Worcestershire sauce
1/2 tsp chili powder
1 1/2 tsp salt
1 T sugar
1/4 tsp pepper

In a large skillet, scramble meat over medium heat. Add onion to meat while it is cooking to help the onion soften.

Once meat is scrambled and is no longer pink, add all other ingredients. Note: all measurements are approximations. Grandma cooks using her senses–sight, smell, taste, feel, etc. I sort of do the same with this recipe, but these are the approximate measurements I use.

Simmer uncovered for 10-15 minutes.

Serve on buns with lettuce, if desired.

Leave a Reply

