Chicken Crescent Dough Bundles

This winner of a recipe comes from my friend, Merilee. I first sampled these little gems at a bridal shower that she co-hosted several years ago. I’ve never been able to get them out of my mind, so I finally asked her for the recipe a few months ago. She graciously shared it with me and said I could share it with others.

I’ve had so many requests for the recipe that it became a high priority to get it posted here ASAP.

Per Merilee’s recommendation I tried using three different flavors of the Shake ‘N Bake crumbs–Original, Parmesan, and Ranch & Herb.  All three were good, but my favorite was the Parmesan. Ranch & Herb came in at a close second, though.

The first time I made them, I tried freezing the leftovers since we had another breakfast scheduled the following week. I was hopeful that this would give me a head start on my preparations. My husband had other ideas, though. No sooner had they been frozen before he had them thawed and consumed…alright, alright–I helped consume them, too.

Good news, though, they freeze just fine–IF they last that long!

The first time I made them, I boiled some chicken with a couple chicken bouillon cubes and then cubed the meat. The second time I made them, I was tired and running short on time, so I used canned chicken in water. I drained off the water, and then added the chicken to the mix. Texture wise, I prefer the cubed version, but the convenience of the canned stuff cannot be denied! Besides, it still tasted good.

chicken-crescents

Chicken Crescent Dough Bundles

1 – (3 oz.) pkg. cream cheese
4 Tbsp butter or margarine, melted
2 cups cooked chicken-cubed
1/4 tsp onion salt
1/8 tsp pepper
1/4 tsp Lemon and Herb Seasoning
2 Tbsp milk
1 Tbsp chopped chives
1/2 cup diced celery
1 – (8 oz.) can refrigerated Pillsbury crescent roll dough
1 pouch Shake ‘N Bake crumbs

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

In medium bowl, blend cream cheese and 2 Tbsp. butter (reserve 2 Tbsp) until smooth.  Add the next seven ingredients; mix well.

Separate crescent rolls into triangles.  Spoon 1/4 cup of meat mixture onto center of each triangle.  Wrap the legs of triangle around the meat and fold over the top, sealing the dough seams by pinching them with your fingers.  Roll in the reserved melted butter, roll again in the Shake’n Bake crumbs.

Put on ungreased cookie sheet and bake for 20-25 minutes until slightly browned.  Remove from oven and serve.

Makes eight small bundles, that will feed 4-8 people depending on appetite.

Leave a Reply

