Overnight Waffles with Buttermilk Syrup

I found these recipes over at Your HomeBased Mom’s site, and have made them a couple times. Each time I’ve served them, I’ve received an overwhelming response. Everyone LOVES them–even people who claim to not be “waffle people.” It’s my new go-to waffle recipe.

Warning: the syrup is so good that you may feel the need to drink it. Don’t be ashamed, and indulge!

P.S. There is no need to butter your waffle before smothering it with this syrup. The syrup is sufficiently buttery in and of itself!

ovnt-wffls-w-bttrmlk-syrup

Overnight Waffles
from Your Homebased Mom

1/2 cup warm water
1 package dry yeast
2 cups milk, warmed
1/2 cup butter, melted
1 tsp. salt
1 tsp. granulated sugar
2 cups flour
2 eggs
1/4 tsp. baking soda

Use a big mixing bowl (the batter will rise to double its original volume.)  Put the water in the mixing bowl and sprinkle in the yeast.  Let stand to dissolve for 5 minutes.  Warm the milk on the stove (I just add in the butter so it is melting as the milk warms).  Be careful not to let the milk boil or get too hot.  You don’t want it to kill the yeast when you add it into the yeast mixture.

Add the milk, butter, salt, sugar and flour to the yeast mixture and stir until smooth and blended (can use a hand beater to get rid of the lumps if needed, I usually don’t need to.)  Cover the bowl with plastic wrap and let stand overnight at room temperature.  Just before cooking the waffles, beat in the eggs, add the baking soda, and stir until well mixed.  The batter will be very thin.  Pour about 1/2 to 3/4 cup batter into a very hot waffle iron.  Bake the waffles until they are golden and crisp.  This batter will keep well for several days in the refrigerator.

Depending on the size of your waffle iron this makes about 6-8 waffles.

Magelby’s Buttermilk Syrup
from Your HomeBased Mom

1/2 cup butter
1 cup sugar
1 cup buttermilk
1 Tbsp vanilla
1 Tbsp corn syrup
1/2 tsp baking soda

Bring first five ingredients to a boil.  Add baking soda.  Boil 10 seconds and remove from heat immediately to avoid boil over.  I use a fairly deep, heavy pan. Serve warm.

4 Responses

  1. We have made this syrup several times and yes, the first time I drank it….slurped it in my spoon. I was dying at how good the frothiness on the top was, wow!! We made it for Christmas breakfast for everyone and they loved it. I googled the recipe and found it, I’m glad you’ve posted it though!

  2. I am a huge fan of that syrup too. I have never tried overnight waffles. Is it really okay to leave a recipe with eggs and milk out all night? Obviously since you don’t have food poisoning it must be, but I am still nervous.

    • Erin, with the waffles, you hold off on adding the eggs until the following morning–just before you pour the batter onto your waffle iron. I’ve made them several times, and so far–no tummy troubles from leaving the milk out overnight (*knock on wood*). Let me know if you end up trying them. I hope you like them!

Leave a Reply

