Apple Jacks

Have I mentioned it’s apple season here? That translates into LOTS of baking. I’ve never baked a lot with apples (apple pie and apple turnovers being the exceptions), so I didn’t have a huge arsenal of must-bake apple recipes on hand. After spending some time on the internet, though, I’ve found plenty of tempting options to keep me busy.

This recipe comes from BakingBlonde’s Weblog. I’ll share it here as I made it. Next time I’ll probably add more Toffee bits (I used 3/4 c in this batch). I LOVE them so!

I really liked these cookies and will most likely make them again. The bits of diced apple spark a juicy & delicious bite.

Apple Jacks

Yield: About 2 dozen cookies

1/2 cup butter, softened
1 cup brown sugar, packed
1/2 tsp vanilla
1 large egg
1 1/2 c flour
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp baking soda
1 tsp ground cinnamon
1 cup apple chopped (about 1 small or medium-sized apple) (Note: I used 1 McIntosh & diced in about 1/8 – 1/4″ thin squares)
3/4 c – 1 c Heath Toffee baking bits

Preheat oven to 350.

Line baking sheet with Parchment or lightly spray with PAM.

In a large bowl stir together the flour, salt, baking soda and cinnamon.

Beat the butter with a mixer and add the sugar, vanilla and egg and beat until light and fluffy. Add the flour mixture and stir to combine.

Mix in the Toffee bits. Fold in the apple pieces (and any other add-ins).

Drop the dough onto baking sheet about 2 inches apart (these spread a bit).

Bake for 9-12 minutes or until light brown and edges are set. Allow to cool slightly on baking sheet and then transfer to wire rack to cool completely.

Note: BakingBlonde suggests that you NOT store these “completely covered or they will be very very soft and not hold up well due to the moisture in the apples. I find storing loosely covered in the fridge helps them keep their texture….These really are best the day you bake, especially after they have cooled a bit but are still warm!” HOWEVER, I didn’t find that to be the case. I stored mine in a container with lid on my kitchen table, and the next morning they still held their shape and were still soft and YUMMY!

*May serve with cinnamon ice cream and hot caramel sauce.
One Response

  1. mmm…those look good. Wish I were there to eat one or 5.

Leave a Reply

