Miriam’s Lemon Dessert Sauce

I remember first sampling this yummy treat as a young girl on hot summer evening at my cousin’s house while taking a break from the pool. She served it over cake, and it was the perfect refreshing treat.

Now, it is true that I LOVE desserts, but lemon desserts are my very most-est favorite-est! YUM!

With this sauce, I actually lick my plate clean–as long as no one is looking. Let’s just keep that our little secret, k?

Miriam’s Lemon Dessert Sauce

6 T butter
2/3 c sugar
1/3 c light corn syrup
dash salt
2/3 c evaporated milk
1/3 c lemon juice, freshly squeezed

In small saucepan, melt butter. Add sugar, corn syrup and salt. Cook over low heat, stirring constantly for 3-4 minutes until mixture becomes opaque. Remove from heat.

Gradually stir in evaporated milk. Add lemon juice & beat vigorously.

Serve hot or cold over cake, ice cream, etc.

4 Responses

  1. I have a funny story about this sauce (I’m sure it’s not the exact sauce, but it’s lemon sauce served over cake)… This sauce was sitting in a large serving bowl at a RS function that took place during church. After church of course the kids swarmed to the dessert table in the RS room. Grace mistook the lemon sauce for lemon punch and FILLED her cup with the sauce. I gasped as I saw her nearly take a drink! For the record, it really is good over cake.

  2. Becky, I don’t blame Grace! I could honestly drink this sauce, too! 🙂

  3. I’m glad you finally got this recipe so I can have it too! Mom’s been holding out.

    • I didn’t know you’d been trying to pry this recipe out of your mom. My mom got it from her when you and I were little girls, and I got it from my mom before I headed to college. Glad you have it now!

      Can you get me her beef and broccoli and stir fry recipes? 🙂

Leave a Reply

