Baked Sweet Potato Fries

As of late, I’ve been trying to lower my postpartum spectacular carb intake.

Several years ago, I read The South Beach Diet, and I decided to give it a whirl. Those first two weeks of phase one were really tough on me, but I survived. I’m such a picky eater (I think it mostly stems from a texture aversion to a whole of foods) that I was even more limited than most on what I was willing and allowed to eat during Phase 1. My morning weigh-ins ultimately gave me the incentive I needed to persevere, though. Once I transitioned into Phase 2 (in which you’re allowed to introduce “good carbs” and “good fats” back into your diet), it got a lot easier.

Anyhow, after reading the book, I learned that sweet potatos actually have a lower glycemic count than your run of the mill white potato. Counterintuitive? Tell me about it!

And the great news? I like them SOOOOO much more than traditional french fries. I think the flavor is amazing!

A baby shower that my mom and sisters hosted for me earlier this year took place at a local bed and breakfast. At the luncheon, sweet potato fries were served, and I couldn’t get enough! YUM! (I realize that the intense craving may have been slightly tied to simply being pregnant, but I even crave them now–several months after delivery). I’ve been on the hunt for a good recipe ever since.

Special thanks to my friend, ReBecca, for pointing out to me that a great recipe was under my nose the entire time–in one my cookbooks!

South Beach Diet Baked Sweet Potato Fries
from The South Beach Diet: Quick & Easy Cookbook, page 282

Sweet potato makes these golden oven fries much healthier than the fried white potatoes we all grew up eating. If you want to add a spicy touch, use Hungarian hot paprika.

2 medium sweet potatoes, scrubbed and dried
1 T extra-virgin olive oil
1/4 tsp salt
1/2 tsp paprika

Heat oven to 425.

Slice each sweet potato lengthwise into 8 pieces. Toss with oil, salt, and paprika. Spread in a single layer on a baking sheet and bake until lightly browned on the bottom (about 15 minutes).

Turn slices and bake until bottom is browned and potatoes are tender, about 10 minutes more. Serve hot.

Notes: I actually cooked mine longer because I like a crispy exterior. I also didn’t measure the ingredients–just mixed till it looked right. I also used Kosher salt instead of table salt because it is more forgiving & I didn’t want these to be too salty.

Yield: 4 servings

4 Responses

  1. not intersting

  2. Great blog here! Also your website quite a bit up very fast!
    What web host are you the use of? Can I get your associate hyperlink for your host?
    I wish my site loaded up as quickly as yours
    lol

  3. Would you like to save money by not hiring a wedding planner, but you feel overwhelmed
    by the thought of trying to organize, track and complete all the details and tasks by yourself.
    Line Dish with Wax Paper3) Line the bottom of the casserole dish with the
    wax paper. Sweet tasty cake, all yours for the taking; just be sure you
    continue on trying completely new methods of cake
    decorating to help you keep improving your cake
    making.

  4. If you find it a bit maddening to follow the daily fluctuations of the scale even though you are eating properly, pick three days
    of the week on which you will always weigh yourself (for
    example, Monday, Wednesday, and Friday). Withdrawal from levothyroxine can be
    done but it takes 6 weeks of withdrawal for
    the remaining thyroid tissue to be completely starved.
    Do not be tempted to lose weight as quickly as you can,
    because a crash diet will have you eating less than a thousand calories a
    day slowing down your metabolism.

Leave a Reply

