Lemon Mousse

My mom made this a lot during the summertime when I was growing up. I love it because it is such a cool and refreshing treat during a hot day. I made it last weekend when some of our friends from out of town came to visit, and it was quickly gobbled up. Even my hubby, who claims he’s not a sweets guy, loved it! 🙂

Lemon Mousse

1 – 12 oz can evaporated milk
1 c sugar
1/4 c fresh lemon juice (about 2 lemons)
1-1/2 c graham cracker crumbs, reserve 1/4 c for topping

Pour milk into mixing bowl. Chill in freezer until icy (about 30-45 minutes) but NOT frozen solid.

While milk is in freezer, press graham cracker crumbs into two pie plates, reserving about 1/4 c of the crumbs for later sprinkling.

Once milk is icy, remove bowl from freezer. Whip milk until stiff. Fold in sugar and lemon juice until combined.

Pour lemon mix into the two prepared pie plates. Top with remaining crumbs. Return to freezer and chill or freeze for several hours until firm.

Yield: Two 10-inch desserts

Notes: Because of the citrus, I prefer to use glass pie plates instead of metal pie tins. I also prefer freshly-squeezed lemon juice over the pre-packaged stuff. The latter tends to give the Mousse a bitter aftertaste, and we don’t want that.

2 Responses

  1. Thanks for sending me the link to this blog! I am looking forward to trying some of these recipes!!

  2. Rachelle, let me know how the recipes turn out! I need to get some of your yummy recipes on here, too! 🙂

Leave a Reply

