Lemon Whippersnappers

This is a family favorite that comes from my husband’s Grandma Nell. Apparently, she was diligent at keeping her cookie jar well stocked, but this was always the favorite and most sought after cookie among the grandkids.

I can certainly understand why! They’ve become a favorite within my family now, too. My niece calls them “Lemon Whippersnapper Cookies.” Apparently, adding “Cookies” to the name is of the utmost importance. 🙂

This cookie uses a cake mix, so it is extra soft and chewy. It is also extremely easy and requires less than a handful of ingredients.

Special thanks to my SIL, Julia, for letting me borrow her picture since mine didn’t turn out.

Lemon Whippersnappers
Yields: about 2 dozen cookies

1 lemon cake mix
2 c. Cool Whip
1 egg
Powdered sugar

Mix cake mix, Cool Whip, and egg until combined. (I also like to chill the dough for 1 – 2 hours).

Drop each scoop of dough into bowl of powdered sugar (I like to use my Pampered Chef medium-sized scoop and then use two forks to coat). Roll around in sugar, and place onto parchment-lined cookie sheets.

Bake at 350 for 11-15 minutes. Cool on rack.

Note: I usually sprinkle additional powdered sugar onto the cookies after they finish baking using my Pampered Chef shaker, but it isn’t necessary.

4 Responses

  1. Being the lemon lover that I am these look right up my alley. Can’t wait to try them!

  2. Let me know what you think, Leigh Anne!

  3. Is the Cool Whip thawed first? Is that amount equivalent to an 8oz. tub? I came from Beantown Menzie blog. Thanks!

  4. Kristy, thanks for swinging by! The Cool Whip is thawed. The amount is just a bit less than an 8 oz tub. Hope they work for you. We love them – a definite family favorite!

Leave a Reply

