Banana Bars

I found this recipe on Your Homebased Mom, a site that my SIL, Becky, shared with me. The site and the recipe immediately became favorites. It’s owner, Leigh Anne, has even become a blogging friend. Check out her site. Everything she shares is wonderful!

I’ve made these banana bars several times, and my mom and sister have since made them several times, too. My hubby claims he’s not a sweets guy, but even he can’t resist these. They are my new favorite use for ripe bananas. With cream cheese frosting, how can you go wrong? I mean, really!

I’ve served these at breakfast/brunch and for dessert. They’re good anytime!

Banana Bars

Bars:
1-1/2 c sugar
1/2 c butter
2 eggs
1 c sour cream
1 tsp vanilla
2 cups flour
1 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt
1 c ripe bananas, mashed (about 2 bananas)

Frosting:
8 oz. cream cheese, softened
1/2 c butter, softened
2 tsp vanilla
4 c powdered sugar

Preheat oven to 350.

Cream sugar, butter, & eggs. Add vanilla & sour cream. Combine and add dry ingredients.

Bake at 350 for 25-35 minutes in jelly roll pan until toothpick inserted into center of bars comes out clean.

Mix all frosting ingredients together and top the bars when finished cooking.

Serve warm or cold. (Both ways are YUMMY)! Refrigerate any leftovers because of the cream cheese in the frosting.

Note: I only had moderately ripe bananas the last time I made these, so I added an extra half of a banana to make the banana flavor stronger. I probably could have added a full banana and been fine. Also, I like bigger chunks of bananas in my bars, so I don’t mash too much. Personal preference.

4 Responses

  1. Your new site is great! So glad you liked the banana bars. I haven’t made them in a while – think it’s about time!

  2. Thanks, Leigh Anne! Eat one (or more) for me.

  3. I wanted to make these this morning but didn’t have sour cream. I substituted low fat plain yogurt and couldn’t tell a difference. Just thought you might like to know.

  4. That’s good to know, Lori! Thanks for the tip! I love using plain yogurt in recipes. Makes baked goods moist and gives it a little zing!

Leave a Reply

