Peach Beehives

My dear friend, Erin, shared this recipe with me after our peach-picking outing. It’s pretty easy & super tasty. Each beehive is sort of like a slice of peach pie–except with proportionally more peach. YUM! We decided that this recipe was a keeper, and it is one that my family will look forward to each peach season.

First, wash the peaches. I prefer using an organic fruit/veggie cleaner, which I'm told removes stuff that water alone won't remove.

First, wash the peaches. I prefer using an organic fruit/veggie cleaner, which I'm told removes stuff that water alone won't remove.

Roll out your pie crust and slice into 1/2 inch strips. No need to pull out the ruler or worry about being ultra precise. Close enough is good enough.

Roll out your pie crust and slice into 1/2 inch strips. No need to pull out the ruler or worry about being ultra precise. Close enough is good enough.

Begin wrapping strips around each peach-completely covering the peach & overlapping the dough slightly during each revolution. Be sure to apply enough pressure to cause your strips to stick together; otherwise your beehive may unravel when it bakes. (Not like I would know, or anything...).

Begin wrapping strips around each peach-completely covering the peach & overlapping the dough slightly during each revolution. Be sure to apply enough pressure to cause your strips to stick together; otherwise your beehive may unravel when it bakes. (Not like I would know, or anything...).

Place your completed hives on your baking sheet. (I had a few strips of dough left over, so I rolled them into four mini beehives. Cute, huh?)

Place your completed hives on your baking sheet. (I had a few strips of dough left over, so I rolled them into four mini beehives. Cute, huh?)

Bake until crust is golden brown (mine baked for about 35 minutes). After pulling them out of the oven, allow them to cool for about 10 minutes.

Bake until crust is golden brown (mine baked for about 35 minutes). After pulling them out of the oven, allow them to cool for about 10 minutes.

Pour the sauce over the beehive, and serve with ice cream. Take a big bite into that scrumptiously juicy peach!

Pour the sauce over the beehive, and serve with ice cream. Take a big bite into that scrumptiously juicy peach!

As I nibbled, I decided to try sprinkling cinnamon on top. I thought it really complemented the other flavors, so I'll probably do this from now on. Follow my lead, if you like.

As I nibbled, I decided to try sprinkling cinnamon on top. I thought it really complemented the other flavors, so I'll probably do this from now on. Follow my lead, if you like.

Peach Beehives

Beehives:

1 box (of 2) frozen Pillsbury pie crust (or make your own)
6-7 peaches

Sauce:

1/2 c butter
1 egg or 1/4 c egg substitute
1 tsp vanilla
Pinch salt
Pinch nutmeg
2 c confectioners (powdered) sugar

Cinnamon for sprinkling (optional)

Preheat oven to 425.

Spray cookie sheet with cooking spray or grease with butter.

Let pie crusts come to room temperature before removing from wrapping.

Wash & dry peaches. Do NOT remove peach skin.

Once warmed, unfold crusts and flatten out. Cut into 1/2 inch strips. Wrap strips around peach, overlapping a little with each revolution. Cover entire peach. Place on greased cookie sheet.

Bake at 425 for 35 – 45 minutes. Let cool about 10 minutes before serving.

For sauce, melt butter over medium heat, being careful not to burn. Add all other ingredients and stir well. Bring to a boil. Remove from heat.

Put individual peaches in serving bowls, pour sauce over top, and serve with vanilla ice cream. Sprinkle beehive with cinnamon (optional).

Yield: 6-7 Beehives

6 Responses

  1. Ooooo, I’m loving this blog. We must squeeze peach picking into our Sat. schedule. I want to try all of your peach recipes….keep the yummy recipes coming!

  2. I’m so happy you love the Peach Beehives and I’m honored one of my favorites made your recipe blog! And seriously girl, where do you find the time for all this picture taking and blogging? You are amazing!!!

    love you!
    Erin

  3. Aunt Becky, I hope you make it to the peach orchard. Your family would have so much fun. Enjoy those peaches for me! I’m already wishing I had another box full.

  4. thebudgefamily, I’m glad you like the blog. Where do I find the time? Don’t ask–but I can tell you my house needs some serious attention right now. 🙂

  5. making these for the fam tonight (S&B and J&W clan and all kids). Hope I can make them good. I love them from last year and cant wait.

    I chatted with Mari about peach jam BTW. Love you

  6. I got this site from my friend who told me about this website and
    now this time I am browsing this web site and reading very informative content at
    this place.

Leave a Reply

