Peach Cobbler

My brother and his girlfriend gave me The Lady & Sons’ Just Desserts cookbook last fall when I was still in the throes and woes of morning sickness. At the time, I wasn’t sure if I’d ever be able to eat another dessert again. I can assure you that I can certainly enjoy desserts (and food, in general) again, and I’ve enjoyed experimenting with some of the recipes in this cookbook. Everything has been delicious, so far, and this cobbler recipe is no exception. Thank you, Paula Deen! This is hands down THE BEST peach cobbler I’ve ever eaten.

Note: The recipe calls for self-rising flour. This is NOT the same as All-Purpose flour, and if you substitute AP flour alone, your crust will NOT rise. A friend of mine, who shall remain nameless, learned this the hard way. Bless her heart!

So, dear, nameless friend–this is basically what your cobbler will look like next time…. 🙂

If you don’t have any SR flour on hand, take heart–all is not lost! There are lots of opinions on how to turn AP flour into SR flour, and I’m not sure which is best. I’ve used Betty Crocker’s recommendation when I’ve been in a pinch, and it’s worked well for me: 1 c AP flour +1 tsp baking powder + 1/2 tsp salt + 1/4 tsp baking soda. Since this recipe calls for 3/4 c SR flour, you can a) figure out your own measurements if you’re a math whiz, or b) mix the above mentioned cup’s worth of flour & components together & then only add 3/4 c to your cobbler, or c) do something else.

The Lady & Sons’ Peach Cobbler
The Lady & Sons’ Just Desserts by Paula Deen, page 128

1/2 c butter
1 c sugar

3/4 c self-rising flour
3/4 c milk
1 28-oz can sliced peaches in heavy syrup, undrained (or use fresh if available; see note below)
cinnamon for sprinkling (optional) (use only with peach or apple cobbler)

Preheat oven to 375.

Place butter in oven in a 2-quart baking dish to melt. Stir sugar and flour together and mix well. Slowly add milk and continue to stir to prevent the batter from lumping. Being careful not to burn yourself, remove hot baking dish containing melted butter from oven; pour batter directly over butter in baking dish (DO NOT STIR). Spoon fruit on top of batter, then gently pour syrup on top (DO NOT STIR). Sprinkle with cinnamon, if using. The most important part of this dish is not stirring the mixture. Bake for 30-45 minutes or until golden brown. Your batter will rise above your fruit, producing the most wonderful of crusts. Serve warm with vanilla ice cream or fresh whipped cream.

Note: If they are available by all means use fresh peaches. In a saucepan, mix two cups fresh preach slices with one cup sugar and one cup water. Bring to a boil, reduce heat, and simmer for 8-10 minutes, stirring occasionally. An almost equally good product is frozen peach slices. Simply follow the instructions for the fresh peach slices.

Serves 8

3 Responses

  1. I made the peach cobbler last night when we had dinner with my parents ~ it was a HIT! My dad even LOVED it! He was just planning to eat a small “courtesy helping” but ending up having 2 “healthy” servings! Micah, Mom and I thought it was delicious too! Thanks for the recipe!

  2. Holly, that’s great! I’m so glad it was a hit with your family!

  3. trying this tonight. I’ll report back. Very easy, and I didn’t have SR flour so I tried the recipe you gave me and threw the rest away. I’ll keep you posted if it works!

Leave a Reply

